Colour Therapy

Hello from Melanie

Introduction to Colour Therapy

Hello from Melanie!

I have always loved colours and their meanings, I love rainbows. There are seven major colours, in the rainbow, we shall look at.

These are all related to a chakra – energy points within the body.

Colour therapy is safe to use alone or alongside any other therapy whether orthodox medicine or another complementary therapy.

Please be aware that no complementary therapy should be considered as an alternative to professional medical advice where necessary.

And no properly qualified complementary therapist would suggest that, neither would they suggest that you stop taking your medication etc.

If you are taking medication you should consult the prescribing professional before you stop taking it.

What is Colour therapy?

We naturally associate colours with emotions: when we’re sad we feel blue, when we’re angry we see red and we even feel green with envy.

It’s perhaps unsurprising to learn that colours can also be used to influence our moods through colour therapy. After all, we’re used to using colour to express our feelings.

You can use these ideas in your own home, in your decor and furniture, and in the clothes you wear – in a similar way to using aromatherapy to influence your mood.

How does it work?

Colour therapy is based on the idea that colours create an electrical impulse in our brain, which stimulates hormonal and biochemical processes in our body. These processes either stimulate or calm us. There are as many colours in colour therapy as there are colours in the rainbow.

Colour Therapy uses the energy relating to each of the seven spectrum colours of red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. Each of the spectrum colours is simply light of varying wavelengths, thus each colour has its own particular energy. These energies resonate with the energy of each of the seven main chakras/energy centres of the body.

If you imagine the chakras as a set of cogs/wheels, (the word chakra is Sanskrit for wheel), they are rather like the workings of a clock or an engine; each cog/wheel needs to move smoothly for the clock/engine to work properly.


Love, warmth, power, energy, confidence.

If you are tired or lacking in energy/need a confidence boost or need to feel confident around others, choose red.


About stability, security and being connected to the earth. Belonging. We are fully alive, content, happy and fulfilled.

“I am safe and protected”. “I deserve love, peace and security”.


Invigorating colour. Warmth and happiness. Energy and Creativity


Movement, flow and flexibility. Allows us to experience newer things in life. About adventure and risk-taking. Enhances enjoyment of base chakra.

I am flexible and open to change”. “I embrace and accept all parts of myself”.


“Sunshine colour.” Optimistic and cheerful. Makes me happy.

Note: Not a lot of people wear this colour.


Our centre and our power. Using it wisely, we can change things, it empowers us. We have confidence to stand up and be counted for who we are. There is clarity. We can move forward.

“The source of all power lies within me”. “I am capable of accomplishing all I came here to do”.


Green: Restful, nature (Meadows). Balancing and harmonising.

Pink: Softness, lightness, love. I picture a pale pink flower.


Mid-way point between the earth and the spiritual. Unconditional love, tolerance and understanding reside here. It is the heart of compassion and detachment – allowing people to grow, while still remaining supportive.

“Love is the core of my being. I can give and receive love. I am worthy of love”.


Sea and the sky. A calming, peaceful colour. A cooling colour, especially turquoise. It slows down the metabolism, reducing stress and promoting relaxation. Symbolises trust and loyalty. Note: A lot of people like this colour.


To do with sound and communication. It allows us to have a voice and share and communicate our truth with others and to speak this clearly. It is to have the courage to stand by our truth, while realising this change over time.

Note: Blue is a good colour to choose if you need to express yourself verbally.

I can speak my truth with love”. “I am a good listener”.


It is a majestic colour. Royal colour. Luxury, power and ambition. Wisdom and mystery. It is our higher power.


This is to do with 'Seeing', vision and creative thought. Having a good heart and compassion for yourself and the universe as a whole.

“I trust my inner vision”. “I tap into my innate wisdom with ease”.

Violet / White

It is about imagination and dreams. Spiritual enlightenment. Also, Calming the emotions. To me it is very soothing. When troubled mind, I close my eyes and picture the colour violet. (Other colours that help me are pale pink, dusky pink and pale blue)


This is the highest/most spiriual chakra. Centre for trust, devotion and inspiration. Connection with our inner self and with the spiritual essence of life.

“I am one with all creation”. “I embrace my spiritual and earthly self. I blend into both roles”. “I am one with my Higher Self”.

Actions You can take for Associated Colours:

Why not try these actions and see if they help you in your life...?


1) Write down words associated with your base chakra. e.g. stability, happy, belonging.

2) Make 5 appointments with yourself, put a date on them.

For example, having a meal with a friend, going for a walk-in nature, having a massage, something you enjoy doing.

Why? Because you are worthy. Just as important as other appointments.

If you must break them, reschedule them as soon as you can.


1) Listen to a relaxing water CD. Flow and move with it, letting go of pain and tension.

2) Prepare bath/shower. Let the water cleanse your skin, with circular movements over your joints. Affirm you are becoming flexible and nurture yourself with love, believing you are healthier and freer.

Afterwards, wear a warm robe and relax.


1) In a safe place, speak to your inner child, accepting her with love and compassion, letting her into your heart. Welcome her, receive her confidence and empowerment, listening to what she says, write down what she tells you.


1) Put some time aside and decide to make some small changes to your life. Do so with love and compassion.

Put a time schedule for those changes. For example: TODAY I will treat myself as my best friend. TODAY I will be positive about myself. NEXT WEDNESDAY I will have a day off, or plan something nice.

2) List three demonstrations of goodness you have received today. Think of these people and send good, positive thoughts to them. Make this a daily thing - good for your heart and brings healing to your heart.


1) Take some time out, listen to calming music, with eyes closed, focus on breathing. Picture a sky-blue flower at your throat, letting petals open. Flow with the music.

2) What would make your life happy, in your home, work and relationships?

Speak clearly and say positive affirmations to make them a reality.


  1. Closing your eyes, imagine a clear crystal screen, which sees every area of your life. Visualise in every detail, just as you want your life to be.

  2. See it, feel it, until it feels just right. Remember it, and in this moment send a prayer (in whatever form you wish) to who/whatever, that you can have this lovely world.

  3. Give thanks that you can make it happen.


1) Ground yourself. You are connected to the earth. Allow the crown chakra to open. Here you see a white crown of light, through which light and love are coming down. This light moves through all your chakras. You see who you really are and who you have become.

You are fully alive.

Just be.

You are totally healed. No one can take this from you. When you come back, make sure you are grounded.